The history of the Town of Porter and Youngstown is shaped by the lower Niagara River and the Great Lakes. Its relationship to Old Fort Niagara and proximity to Canada has shaped its unique economic and cultural heritage. The purpose of the museum, located in the Red Brick Schoolhouse, is to promote this heritage to local residents and visitors through a wide range of research and educational programs aimed at multi-generational audiences. There are a diversity of exhibits and collections built through collaboration and technology at this active museum.
Official Site of the Niagara Falls National Heritage Area Junior Ranger Program
240 Lockport Street
Youngstown, NY 14174
The flow of water was stopped completely over both falls on March 29th 1848 due to an ice jam in the upper river for several hours. This is the only known time to have occurred. The Falls did not actually freeze over, but the flow was stopped to the point where people actually walked out and recovered artifacts from the riverbed!
NYS Parks / Trails