Thanks for your interest in the Niagara Falls National Heritage Area, a collection of one city, two towns, two villages, a host of state parks along the Niagara River. The “Falls to Fort” region offers the world-famous Niagara Falls, a variety of heritage tourism activities, quaint village shops and restaurants, a downtown tourism area and a variety of outdoor activities including boating, fishing and hiking.
Congress created the Niagara Falls National Heritage Area in 2008 and seventeen commissioners approved a Management Plan in 2012. Collaboration with key partners like New York State Parks, the New York Power Authority, the Niagara Tourism and Convention Corporation, the USA Niagara economic development agency, Niagara University and municipalities within the National Heritage Area has led to rapid and significant accomplishments. Whether funding local historical societies to improve their interpretive programs or bringing school children to Old Fort Niagara, the Niagara Falls National Heritage Area is committed to increasing heritage tourism in our area and to improving the quality of life with the NHA.
A non-profit board now operates the Niagara Falls National Heritage Area and looks forward to implementing our Management Plan and Interpretive Plan in the years to come. Over eight million tourists visit Niagara Falls each year, and our goal is to increase that visitation, draw people to the heritage tourism options in the NHA, and to boost economic development with tourism as the core industry. People from around the world have been coming to Niagara Falls for centuries, and we hope that visitors will discover the rich history in this region, as well as the wonder of the falls.
Niagara Falls National Heritage Area, Inc.
On October 13, 1812, the United States invaded Canada. Lewiston was the staging area for the Battle of Queenston Heights, the first major battle of the War of 1812. Cannons installed on the lawn of Barton Hill were aimed at the village of Queenston, across the Niagara River in Canada. Troops were quartered on Major Barton's property as well.